Character in Progress: FRASH!

The YaddaDaddas are on hold briefly. They’re killing me. In the meantime, I’m working on a character whose inspiration comes from our Atlanta Thrashers hockey Games.

Thrashers logo

The Thrashers’ mascot is a Brown Thrasher; a small, brown bird, the state bird of Georgia. I like the Brown Thrasher a lot, but it always seems a bit silly, seeing the little thing all bulked up and predatory-looking like the logo and the costumed mascot.

A borrowed pic of Thrash (will credit if needed!)

The mascot’s name is Thrash, and he’s great– terrific design and costume, and the actor inside gives it his all.

Since a lot of people at Thrashers–well, I suppose any— hockey games do all kinds of goofy stuff to get noticed and be seen on the Jumbotron(the big screen that follows the game and score and shows fans doing their stuff in the stands),I thought it would be fun to make a puppet to take to games. I don’t go with my group of friends to games much, but when I do I have a great time. Anyway, since my specialty is monsters, I started ruminating on a monstrous bird sort of character to take to the game. Strictly my creation; no copying other mascots.

Utilizing some things I already have–some turquoise fur, and a big beaky head made of a sort of burgundy color,both colors being in the Thrashers logo/colors, a character is now slowly coming to fruition:

The big beaky head--one of the best heads I've ever made

The big beaky head--one of the best heads I've ever made

The head with turquoise fur draped over it to get an idea how how it works together. I likes it!

The head with turquoise fur draped over it to get an idea how how it works together. I likes it!

He’s gonna be mostly like a bird, but probably with teeth and a long scaly tail. he might actually end up being the “Pirahnakeet” I’ve always wanted to make. Whatever he is, he’s going to be big, and probably pretty noticeable. And as a salute to the Thrashers and Thrash, but again with a monster twist, his name’s gonna be Frash!!;

He also reminds me a little of a Frackle.

One comment

This is an all-ages site;don't bother with obscene comments because it goes straight to spam.

