Crispy Critters Cereal!

In the 80’s we had a cereal called Crispy Critters, which was supposed to look and taste like animal crackers. I hate animal crackers, and I can honestly say that isn’t what this cereal tasted like. To me it tasted a little like a cross between Kix and Cheerios. I thought it was pretty good. I had a friend named Sara at school who loved to sing the theme song to make me crack up.

I adored the commercial–the little animals were SO CUTE, and I’m guessing they were rather small rod puppets. Crispy, even if he was of undeterminable origin,was also a delightful character in my book. Those were the days when you could still do a Jimmy Durante impression and people got it. He also had an impressive pair of poongas (my word for antenna-like things with furry bobs on the ends, sprouting from a character’s head), like Hari’s.

I made screencaps of several different commercials to get good pics of all the characters.

cc1

Crispy

cc8

Crispy at the piano

cc5

Lion and Camel

cc3

Goat and Hippo

cc4

The Goat again. 🙂

Unfortunately, General Mills couldn’t seem to have success with this cereal; it was actually put out decades before with disappointing sales, and the attempt to revive it in the 80’s didn’t take, either.

3 comments

This is an all-ages site;don't bother with obscene comments because it goes straight to spam.

