Coco.

cocosketch1

I’ve been wanting to make a strong female character for a while. But, as a female, it’s actually kind of difficult.I mean, let’s face it…female characters done by men are simply funnier. I may not ever capture the magic of Wayland Flowers and Madame, or Frank Oz and Miss Piggy,but I’d like to take a stab at it.

I also had planned to make a dragon puppet to take to the Rennaisance Festival in our town; it’s something I’ve wanted to do for years but never got the gumption. Now, why not? It’s a great time for me to get in on “guerilla puppetry”–a great term coined by my new friend Kevin Pittman: Taking puppets to public events for fun and exposure. I would then probably use said dragon in the dragon-themed show I’m plotting.

The character that’s coming to mind for all of this is a small, female dragon named Coco, after Coco Chanel. I’m not sure I would attempt a French accent with her; I’m more inclined to give her a very flouncy American Southern accent.

cocoprog1

Here’s the first bit of progress on her. I have a wonderful spotted fabric I can’t wait to try out for her. It’s a wild cat sort of printed plush, so it’s a bit of an experiment, but I’d so love to try it for something besides a wild cat. She will have a fleece face, underside and limbs.

2 comments

  1. Judging by the sketches and the way you can put these things together, Coco is going to be gorgeous. I can’t wait to see her completed!

    And YES take her for a walk around the Ren Faire.

    BTW, I think a flouncy Southern accent would be perfect for her.

This is an all-ages site;don't bother with obscene comments because it goes straight to spam.

