Chuck Rooster Performed for Jim Henson and Frank Oz.

chuck1

Here is the handsome, gorgeous Chuck Rooster, one of my most beautiful puppets ever. And expensive!  His tail feathers totalled about $40 in 1989.

Chuck has the unique honor of being seen by Jim Henson and Frank Oz.

At the National Puppetry Festival held at MIT in Boston, 1989, Chuck performed at the infamous “Potpourri Night”, during which anyone can go up onstage and do anything(as long as it’s under five minutes). This was on the same day that I met Jim Henson and Frank Oz,who were attending the festival, and I was a nervous wreck to know that they were also in the audience this night, but at the same time, I hope I performed my very best for them.

To my credit, some spies I had in the audience, who were sitting near Jim and Frank, heard Jim turn to Frank and say, “She’s good. She’s really good.”

I also sent a tape of this to Tom Petty. Although he was not able to reply personally, his then-wife Jane took the time to send me a tiny note, saying that Tom said my caricatures were “aces”. I was so proud! 😀


This performance is for Tom, for Jim, for Frank,and most of all, my loving husband, who after seeing this encouraged me to bring out the puppets again:

I apologize for the cruddy video quality. It’s old and I’m filming the TV. They also washed out Chuck’s beautiful colors with the spotlights.


2 comments

This is an all-ages site;don't bother with obscene comments because it goes straight to spam.

