I met Mallory Lewis, daughter of Shari!

I had no idea how exquisitely well Mallory Lewis had taken the reins of her mother Shari Lewis’ legacy. I am in awe. Shari was one of my heroes, and I had the pleasure of meeting her in the 90’s. But that’s another post.

Lewis’s daughter, Mallory Tarcher, wrote for Shari’s shows Lamb Chop’s Play-Along and The Charlie Horse Music Pizza. After her mother’s death in 1998, on the advice of family friend Dom DeLuise, Mallory decided that Lamb Chop should live on for her many fans and has begun performing with Lamb Chop,even legally changing her name to Lewis. Mallory said of her decision to take up the character: “My mom was one of the world’s greatest entertainers. I don’t want to challenge that. I don’t think it’s wise to go there. But I do want to do everything that I can do for Lamb Chop. I’ll help keep her going”.

She has taken over this role with such skill that it is difficult for me,personally, to tell the difference.

My pictures from her performance today at the Woodruff Arts Center are too blurry to share, but I did bring along two fans who were excited to meet Mallory:

MalloryLewisOJLJsm

Lemonjello(left) and Oranjello (right) were as thrilled as I was to meet Mallory, and she was impressed with them, too! She said, “Those are hilarious. Those are hilarious. C’mon, let me get up on the table for a picture–you get up here with me.” So we both clambered onto the table(she a bit more nimbly than I) and Steve quickly snapped a photo. She signed an autograph for me, too, and I quickly gave her a Puppatoons card. Hope you like what you see, Mallory! 😀

One comment

  1. I grew up with Shari Lewis shows on my TV–The Disney Christmas special (with Captain Person!), “The Shari Show” repeats and all the “You Can Do It!” home videos. I think Shari, Lamb Chop, Hush Puppy and Charlie Horse were all in an old episode of “The Mouse Factory” once, too. (Is this dating me at all? XD)

    I’m so glad to hear that Mallory is carrying on. Lamb Chop is still adored by so many and I’d hate to see future generations miss out on her coy little attitude. 🙂 Maybe she’s inspiring some folks as much as her mother inspired me when I was a wee thing. (Dogwood is proof of this.)

    Hey, isn’t that Lemonjello and Oranjello’s first celebrity encounter? How cool is that? Way to go, guys! All of you!

This is an all-ages site;don't bother with obscene comments because it goes straight to spam.

