The “Night at the Museum” Troop!

Can't I please keep him?

Can't I please keep him?

Most of you may have figured out that I do events with the Georgia portion (or “Garrison”) of the 501st Legion–essentially, Star Wars costuming for charity and general fun with the public. Tonight was one of the most entertaining and hilarious “Troops” I’ve ever been involved in, due to the sheer number and variety of participants. The order of the day  was “A Night at the Southern Museum“, inspired by the Night at the Museum movies. Along with Star Wars characters, there were American Indians, cowboys, the Wright brothers, Neil Armstrong,Albert Einstein,World War II soldiers,Ben Franklin,Joan of Arc, Queen Mary, Several Greek statues,Queen Elizabeth, Amelia Earhart,Attila the Hun, Abraham Lincoln, Civil War soldiers, cavemen,”Rosie the Riveter” women,Julius Caesar,Cleopatra,1930’s gangsters,pirates and more.

Tonight I was also testing out a brand new microphone in my TIE Fighter Pilot helmet. The mike was a birthday gift from my husband after I had been complaining forever about having to yell inside my helmet to be understood. As far as I can tell, it works great. Thank you, my wondrous husband.

What was really cool about this event was the instructions for all the participants, and that was to be in character all the time:

The premise is that the museum has obtained a meteoroid from the Smithsonian which of course has an unusual effect on all of our exhibits. This meteor will be placed on exhibit this weekend with a story line that should start to draw interest to the event itself. Also we will be placing lights in the main lobby that will come on each night to draw attention. Essentially the premise is just like the movie, patrons will be invited inside to visit with our exhibits All of our exhibits will interact with our visitors as well as each other. The one thing we ask, which I am sure will be no problem for your group is that you “never” break character.

So we 501st folks were so informed(original bad grammar preserved):

This is a IN CHARACTER event. That means you have to be fully in character 100% of the time when you are in front of the public. That means….

1. You can NEVER take off your helmet in front of attendees.
2. You cannot chit chat about the “real world” in front of attendees.
3. You have to be mindful of pretty much everything you do as you’ll be seen doing it.
4. You can’t smoke anywhere you can be seen, which might mean no where if there isn’t a place you can both smoke and not wear your helmet without being seen.
5. You can’t bring family and have them hanging out with you, you’ll be working. A Stormtrooper can’t be holding his or her significant other’s hand while being in character. Its fine if they want to buy tickets and come to the event, but you can’t break character when you are around them.

Once you walk out to that floor for the event, your a Stormtrooper or Vader or whatever character you represent.

And it’s exactly what we did. Here are just a few shots of the mayhem before and after the crowd of 1,100 people were there. I’m hoping to get pics of us all actually in the event later as people gradually post their photos.

Orientation--you can see Abe Lincoln way over to the left. Also in the crowd are pirates, gladiators, cavemen and Stormtroopers.

Orientation--you can see Abe Lincoln way over to the left. Also in the crowd are pirates, gladiators, cavemen and Stormtroopers.

Me in TIE Pilot armor, with Abe Statue, cavemen,Rosie the Riveters anda GReek Statue

Me in TIE Pilot armor, with Abe Lincoln Statue, cavemen,Rosie the Riveters and a Greek Statue

Me and Atilla the Hun.

Me and Atilla the Hun.

Me and William Tecumseh Sherman!

Me and William Tecumseh Sherman!

Stormtroopers(I can't tell them apart with their helmets on), Kris as Vader, a Leia that showed up, me as TIE Pilot, and Steve as Biker Scout.

Stormtroopers(I still can't tell them apart once they put their helmets on), Kris as Vader, a Leia that showed up, me as TIE Pilot, and Steve as Biker Scout.

Me and Harper, who works at the museum. He said I was the cutest Trooper he'd ever seen.

Me and Harper(previously costumed as a Confederate soldier), who works at the museum. He said I was the cutest little Trooper he'd ever seen.

Cavemen!

Cavemen! Uh,er..cavekids!

Steve, my cute lil' husband, suiting up.

Steve, my cute lil' husband, suiting up.

Joey(WWII US 4th Infantry Division),Kyle and Danny, who were handlers and photographers, and Darrell. Steve in background.

Joey as a WWII soldier,Kyle and Danny, who were handlers and photographers, and Darrell. Steve in background.

Jesse and me, so dealt with at the end of it all that we have to prop our heads up on each other.

Jesse and me, so dealt with at the end of it all that we have to prop our heads up on each other.

2 comments

  1. Just wait, Liz. You will get to the point that you can identify little differences in individual armor and general body movements. If somebody’s been in for over a year and I’ve trooped with them more than a couple of times, I can usually identify who’s under the bucket.

    For future reference, I’m the unintentionally feminine trooper. I fight to not march and stand “girly”, but it still happens.

    1. I can usually spot Jesse because of his walk–yes! And sometimes Michael because he’s a bit thinner than the others, and Paul usually has the orange (oh, crap, I forgot what its called) thingy on, but otherwise, I have to ask, “Who’s under there?” LOL..
      I gave up trying to not walk girly as a TIE Pilot. I have to be so careful not to trip over anything, if I try to walk manly I lose focus and I stumble!

This is an all-ages site;don't bother with obscene comments because it goes straight to spam.

