Adam Savage meets Jamie Walrus!

Tada.

Adam_Jamie_Lizsm

This was a totally non-allowed photo, according to the staff, but considering how many flashes and cheers erupted from the audience when I went down front to do this, I think the crowd would have tackled whomever would have tried to make me delete it. I mean, in the line to get in,people kept asking me, “Are you gonna take his photo with Adam?”  When I did manage to rush down front and it was my turn, I simply got caught up in the moment and just said, “All I want is a photo!” After it happened,one staff member did get very nasty with me. I do feel bad for people who lined up for pics and questions and were turned away because we were out of time. I  understand if they let one person take a picture, they should let everybody. But sometimes we get lucky in these situations.

I think Adam got a kick out of Jamie. He seemed a little surprised: “A..walrus puppet is first in line!”, then smiled and said, “I’ve…heard about you.” Then, on a whim, I turned around, held Jamie aloft, and the crowd went wild. And it was a huge,loaded ballroom full of people, maybe a thousand or two? Flashes went off left and right, blinding me. Steve was somewhere taking a photo, and he was using his camera, which has a tendency to take blurry photos when you don’t use a flash.

So Adam, if this wasn’t allowed and someone got mad at you,I sincerely apologize. I worked so hard to get this puppet ready, find you, track you down after trying to sort through that whole nutty schedule book and I was so thankful I got to take it. I loved hearing about your “100 Wishes”,and it’s terrific  how you like to get in there in costume and enjoy the Con with the rest of us.

4 comments

  1. CONGRATS!!!

    I ENVY YOU SO MUCH RIGHT NOW.

    Just so you know.

    The con staff can get over it–I’m positive they’ve dealt with worse things than a woman with a cute little mythbusting walrus! GO YOU!

    (Adam’s still adorable. Geek girl moment here. *squee*)

  2. That is great! And you are such a rebel breaking all the rules. I can just see security getting bent out of shape and hearing Jamie Walrus yelling “don’t taze me bro!” (in a low, slow voice of course.)

  3. SO AWESOME. 😀 Congrats!!! I’m loving your D*C adventures.

    Having never been to a con, I’m clueless about things like photo rules. Are photos not allowed because then everyone in the crowd would want one? And would the security/staff really get mad at someone like Adam for momentarily bending the rules?

This is an all-ages site;don't bother with obscene comments because it goes straight to spam.

