Steampunk is Awesome.

steampunkchairsm

Here is a pic of a very nice fellow who is also a puppeteer, and whose name I forgot(If you’re out there and see this, get in touch with me!)! I met so many fantastic people at Dragon Con, and if I didn’t get your card, chances are, your name, but not your persona, slipped my mind.:( Anyway, he called me over while I was walking in the dealer room and essentially said I should do a panel or workshop at the next DC. That was very flattering and indeed got me to thinking. He and I talked about all sorts of things–moving eyes on puppets, quality of work, lip synch,etc.

As you can see, he has decked out his wheelchair in steampunk magificence. I think one of the things I like most about the steampunk genre is its elegance. The term “steampunk” denotes “works set in an era or world where steam power is still widely used—usually the 19th century, and often Victorian era England—but with prominent elements of either science fiction or fantasy, such as fictional technological inventions like those found in the works of H. G. Wells and Jules Verne”. Love it.

We even saw some steampunk Ghostbusters at Dragon Con. Go ahead–Google ’em! 😀

2 comments

  1. Steampunk stuff is gorgeous! (Googled the steampunk Ghostbusters BTW and WOW. There’s a cosplay I’d love to do!) I wish I could get a better mental handle on how things are supposed to look and feel cos it really is beautiful stuff.

    I see controls on his wheelchair–Was he able to just drive the thing that way? WOW. That’s a piece of functioning art there.

    I’m in hopes they might have a puppetry track at D*C next year. *fingers crossed* If you did a workshop, what all would you cover? There’s so much you could talk about! Toy with the idea, maybe even see what’s involved. 🙂

    (I’d sign on for it. Some of us still need help. *sheepish*)

    1. The controls on his wheelchair were l real–some of them drove the chair, and some did the effects–steam coming out of the little smokestack on the back, and sounds and lights. It was AMAZING.

      I think I might cover basic foam building in a workshop.

This is an all-ages site;don't bother with obscene comments because it goes straight to spam.

