Visiting the Netherspawn…

HWcoundowngraphic

NWbillboardme

Last night Steve and I went to Netherworld to get a few things from the gift shop, and also to let me see what the place was like on the outside when the show is in full swing(since I’m in my puppet booth all night, I never see what it looks like out front). My GOD, what a madhouse. It’s almost a complete separate show in itself. The huge full-body puppets, The Reaper and The Wraith, were out, as well as Lizard Man, The Boozy Clown,The Collector(The top-hatted character on the billboard), The Doll, and numerous vampires, sliders, and other assorted haints and frighteners. I forgot what their specific costume is called, but the best scaring going on was from the actors in ghillie suits, who simply looked like bushes. Once a guest got close enough, BAM! The actors would  jump out and clang their tin-can noisemakers together and the guests would jump out of their skin.

The line was immense; hundreds upon hundreds of people deep, no joke. The line snaked around the building, and the police were on hand to direct traffic and keep the crowd orderly, and they truly do an amazing job of keeping all that potential chaos under control.

ReaperMe2sm

My buddy Derek was in The Reaper costume and came running to me (well, as fast as he could run) and CeCe(I hope I spelled that right) was his handler.

I also officially met Billy Messina, the other co-owner, who was out in the crowd and noticed my Netherworld sweatshirt I had proudly pruchased the other day. I had only seen him once or twice before, as Ben Armstrong has usually been the most visible figure of the two owners on the nights I’ve worked. Billy was extremely gracious and thanked me for doing a good job. Apparently word has gotten around.:)

I’m glad my body is finally going to have a chance to repair itself after such a strenuous work experience, but I’m really gonna miss these people till next year.:)

This is an all-ages site;don't bother with obscene comments because it goes straight to spam.

