Worst Puppetry Experience Ever.

I was recently asked what my worst puppetry experience ever was. I really hate to talk about it because of the subject matter involved, but here goes:

In high school, we were put into groups in our history class to do our Black History Month projects. My group decided to a puppet show, since the others figured I’d build all the puppets and make the stage and everything. Much to their surprise, I said I’d build one puppet and everyone else would have to build theirs! Anyway, I built Martin Luther King, Jr, for him to give his famed “I Have a Dream” speech. On the day of our performance, everything went well–everyone remembered their lines and cues beautifully. But when I got up there behind our little stage, and Martin Luther King,Jr. got to the most impassioned part of his speech…
…his head fell off.
..and rolled under the teacher’s desk.

I don’t think I’ve ever been so embarrassed in my life.

This is an all-ages site;don't bother with obscene comments because it goes straight to spam.

