Remembering Jim.

Twenty years ago today, Jim Henson died.

I had met Jim at a national puppetry convention the year before and told him how much I wanted to work with the Muppets. He said I needed to finish college first, but to stay in touch, that my work was very good.

I remember he had very strong, but gentle, hands when I shook his hand.

I still remember nearly fainting when my mom called and told me she had heard the news on May 16 on the radio.

A great light in the world went out that day, but in a way, that light shines on in all of us who were inspired by his work.Rather than post something sad today, I thought I’d post one of my favorite songs performed mainly by Jim, “Tomorrow”. The puppets in this clip are, L-R: Jim Henson, Frank Oz and Jerry Nelson, performed by, of course,Jim Henson, Frank Oz and Jerry Nelson.:)

One comment

This is an all-ages site;don't bother with obscene comments because it goes straight to spam.

